PRESS RELEASE – The Illusionist’s Apprentice

1

2
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact:
Allison Carter, Senior Publicist
Allison.carter@harpercollins.com
(o) 615-902-2143; (c) 205-223-7085


Nearly 100 years after his death, a new Houdini story rises from the shadows—“The Illusionist’s Apprentice” releases March 7

Harry Houdini’s one-time apprentice holds fantastic secrets about the greatest illusionist in the world. But someone wants to claim them…or silence her before she can reveal them on her own.


(Jan. 2017) — The recent 90-year anniversary of Houdini’s death has awakened pop-culture interest into the entertainer’s life and mystique. As Houdini’s global platform continues to expand—evidenced by the opening of the House of Houdini museum in Budapest, Hungary—the tone is set for a U.S. Vaudeville renaissance.

Novelist Kristy Cambron brings readers a timely take on illusionist_final-cover_dec-16Houdini’s legacy in THE ILLISIONIST’S APPRENTICE which releases March 7. Cambron paints a vivid and magical story through in-depth historic and geographic research–one of the reasons her writing has been praised by Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, USA TODAY and more.

THE ILLUSIONIST’S APPRENTICE takes readers back to 1926 Boston, where main character Jenny “Wren” Lockhart is Houdini’s one-time apprentice. She is bold and eccentric–even for a female vaudevillian. As notorious for her inherited wealth and gentleman’s dress as she is for her unsavory upbringing in the back halls of a vaudeville theater, Wren lives in a world that challenges all manner of conventions.

In the months following Houdini’s death, Wren is drawn into a web of mystery when a public illusion goes terribly wrong, leaving one man dead and another charged with his murder. Layered with mystery, illusion, and the artistry of the Jazz Age’s bygone vaudeville era, THE ILLUSIONIST’S APPRENTICE is a journey through love and loss and is perfect for fans of Greer Macallister’s THE MAGICIAN’S LIE and Erin Morgenstern’s THE NIGHT CIRCUS.


wn_kcambron_-headshot-1

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kristy Cambron is the bestselling author of THE RINGMASTER’S WIFE, named to Publishers Weekly Spring 2016 Religion & Spirituality TOP 10. Her novels have been named to Library Journal Reviews’ Best Books and RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards Best lists, and received a 2015 INSPY Awards nomination for best debut novel. Kristy holds a degree in art history from Indiana University, and has 15 years of experience in instructional design, corporate training, and communications for a Fortune-100 Corporation.

Kristy lives in Indiana with her husband and three young sons.


ABOUT THOMAS NELSON

Thomas Nelson, part of HarperCollins Christian Publishing, Inc., is a world-leading provider of Christian content and has been providing readers with quality inspirational product for more than 200 years. The publishing group provides multiple formats of award-winning Bibles, books, gift books, cookbooks, curriculum, and digital content, with distribution of its products in more than 100 countries. Thomas

Nelson is headquartered in Nashville, TN. For additional information, please visit www.thomasnelson.com.


Back to { BOOKS }